IIMEC6: Purinergic Signalling and CNS Disorders

Professor Geoffrey Burnstock

Our annual international conferences and research colloquiums are designed to bring together researchers, clinicians, patient groups and patients/carers in order to make progress in research into ME.

Invest in ME Research has, for years, also sought to bring in researchers from other fields in order to help expedite progress in research into ME and to utilise the best minds available.

In 2011 IiMER invited Professor Geoffrey Burnstock to our conference events.
IIMEC6 was the 6th Invest in ME International ME Conference arranged and hosted by the charity and held in London.

At this time we thought it appropriate to release his presentation at the IIMEC6 conference.
The title of his presentation was -

Purinergic Signalling and CNS Disorders

Professor Burnstock has published over 1400 papers and supervised 100 PhDs so he is quite an expert.

" Professor Geoffrey Burnstock studied theology, maths and physics at King's College London, before completing a PhD at King's and University College London under the supervision of the neurophysiologist, JZ Young. Between 1959 and 1975, Professor Burnstock worked at the University of Melbourne, beginning with a senior lectureship in zoology. Most of his major research has been on the autonomic nervous system, notably autonomic neurotransmission and he is best known for his discovery that ATP is a transmitter in NANC (non-adrenergic, non-cholinergic) nerves and also for the discovery and definition of P2 purinergic receptors, their signaling pathways and functional relevance.

Professor Burnstock's work in this area has had an impact on the understanding of pain mechanisms, incontinence, embryological development, bone formation and resorption, and on skin, prostate and bladder cancer. Professor Burnstock returned to London in 1975, becoming Head of Department of Anatomy and Developmental Biology at University College London and Convenor of the Centre of Neuroscience.

He has served as editor-in-chief of the journals Autonomic Neuroscience and Purinergic Signalling and has been on the editorial boards of many other journals. He has been elected to the Australian Academy of Science, the Royal Society and the Academy of Medical Sciences, and was awarded the Royal Society Gold Medal in2000. He was President of the International Society for Autonomic Neuroscience (ISAN), and was first in the Institute of Scientific Information list of most cited scientists in Pharmacology and Toxicology. (from The UCL Centre for the History of Medicine)"

Last Update 24/08/2017